EP’s Malgraff, Cairncross in national squad

TWO Eastern Province players, Ignatius Malgraff and Chad Cairncross, were included in the South African men’s hockey squad named at the conclusion of the interprovincial in Durban at the weekend.

The pair were named in a 32-strong men’s squad chosen by the national selectors.

The squad is:

Goalkeepers: Rassie Pieterse, Jason Briggs (both Southern Gauteng); Gowan Jones, Richard Curtis (both KZN Coastal Raiders); Jacques le Roux (Western Province), Chad Durrheim (North West).

Defenders: Jethro Eustice, Gareth Heyns, Lance Louw (all Southern Gauteng); Mohamed Mea, Leneal Jackson (both KZN Coastal Raiders); Daniel Bell, Rhett Halkett (both Western Province); Matt Guise-Brown (Northern Blues).

Midfielders: Tim Drummond, Dan Sibbald, Ross Hetem (all KZN Coastal Raiders); Chad Cairncross (Eastern Province); Clint Panther, Taylor Dart (both Southern Gauteng); Wade Paton (Western Province); Marc Fourie (WP Peninsula).

Forwards: Ignatius Malgraff (Eastern Province); Pierre de Voux, Matt Botha (both Western Province); Taine Paton, Damian Kimfley (both KZN Coastal Raiders); Keenan Horne (WP Peninsula); Mondli Dlamini, Cam Mackay (both KZN Coastal Mynahs); Richard Pautz (Northern Blues); Brandon Panther (Southern Gauteng).

EP finished off the interprovincial by defeating KZN Inland 2-0 in their last playoff to end in seventh position. The goals came from Malgraff and Dalan Phillips.

The EP Settlers achieved an identical position in the B section by defeating Namibia 2-1, the goals coming from Kyle Boggenpoel and Jeremy Hart.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *