‘Hey Now!’ PE fans

PORT Elizabeth band The Brothers will launch their third album, Hey Now! next weekend, with a “skafrican” party at the popular Roof Garden Bar in Chapel Street.

The 14-track release is a mix of reggae, ska, jazz, country, afro and funk, a blend of genres they have titled “skafrican”.

The Brothers include Etienne Verster on vocals, ukulele and percussion, Joe van der Linden on guitar and vocals, Boet Strydom on keyboards, Graham Beyer on saxophone, trumpet and trombone, Dave Houghton on bass and Lloyd Martin on drums.

“Our first album, Road Trip, was recorded in 2010, and the second,

Black and White, in 2013,” Verster


The new release touches on environmental issues, morality and the ocean addict’s call to the sea, among other themes, and is a “groove-infested wake-up cry”.

“The record is like a good curry, where the authentic ingredients have had time to stew in the mix, to put forth a unique flavour greater than the sum of its parts and we are once again celebrating this momentousness in the heart of PE.”

Laden with Hammond organ, a brass section, three-part vocals, drums, bass and guitars, the album was recorded over 15 months.

The launch is next Saturday May 28 at 8pm, and tickets at R120 are on sale at www.quicket.co.za

For more information, contact Lindy on 082-742-2481.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *