Volkswagen Rally racers in Bay

Winners of the Volkswagen Rally Leeroy Poulter and Elvéne Coetzee in the Toyota Yaris S2000
Winners of the Volkswagen Rally Leeroy Poulter and Elvéne Coetzee in the Toyota Yaris S2000

The cold, and at times, wet weather did not put a damper on the Volkswagen Rally at the weekend.

Rally enthusiasts were treated to two days of action in Uitenhage, Bay West Mall and surrounding areas.

Round four of the South African National Rally Championship, saw Toyota Gazoo Racing SA in association with Total Quartz’s Leeroy Poulter and Elvéne Coetzee record their fourth victory on the trot for the season, making it a clean sweep for them so far in 2016.

Teammates Giniel de Villiers and Carolyn Swan brought the sister Toyota Yaris S2000 home in second place overall.

“The weekend went very well for us,” team principal of Toyota Gazoo SA Racing Glyn Hall said.

“Both Leeroy and Giniel drove like champions, and we’re very fortunate that Guy Botterill did exactly the same in class S1600.”

The young Durbanite and navigator Simon Vacy-Lyle drove a faultless rally, leading Class S1600 from start to finish in their Yato-supported Toyota Etios S1600.

As for the two factory entries, Poulter/Coetzee had a near-faultless rally, though a spin just 1km from the end of the spectacular stage known as Culturama, nearly cost them the race.

This 19.2km-long stage has a fearsome reputation, thanks to the many twists and turns along the way, as well as the massive drops that prey on the minds of the crews.

According to Hall, the telemetry showed that the record was well within Poulter/Coetzee’s reach, up until the moment of their spin.

Next up is Round 5 of this year’s championship. The event takes place on August 19 and 20, in the area around the Gauteng town of Heidelberg.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *